Why would I want a bunker?

Posted: March 10, 2015 in Ideas

Currently, the company I work for is starting to build concrete shelters or bunkers, if you will.

Aside from having a wicked cool new area to brag about amongst friends, they are entirely practical.

We are stationed in Texas… and even though on all of the expert maps my particular area is not technically in “Tornado Alley” we definitely get our fair share. Not to mention the hurricanes that make land fall in this area.

I’ve always loved watching storm chasers (I’m way too chicken to try it out myself) and I can’t tell you haw many actual tornado warnings I’ve been under directly.

I have been in an actual tornado… I hunkered down in the Brenham CVS Pharmacy as the roof was torn off the restaurant in the parking lot. We watched shopping carts and those little metal shopping cart trolleys that you park them in when you’re done with them go completely airborne.

Scariest moment of my entire life, hands down. My kids were crying asking if we were gonna die. I was wondering if the wind would tear off the roof of the pharmacy and sweep us away.

We later found out we were within 100 feet of the actual tornado. It was only an F2 on the Fujita scale. It could have been so much worse.

My heart skips a beat now every time I hear the warning sirens.

So, now to the question in the title of the post… why would you need a storm shelter? Well, take a look at the data complied by the experts…

Destruction and Aftermath of Tornado

2009-2013 Tornado history

EDIT: You can now outfit your survival lifestyle by shopping our Survival Store!

Survival Gear by Bunkers Galore

Leave a comment