Review – Mountain House Freeze Dried Pouches

Posted: June 15, 2015 in Ideas
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Okay.. I’m gonna be brutally honest.

I’m trying to figure out a way to score like 50 more of these. OMg.

I can’t even begin to describe HOW impressed I am on these. I’ve had a lot of different brands of MRE type meals. So far, I haven’t had any complaints, they’ve all been pretty good.

Honestly, these blow everything I’ve tried thus far out of the water.

Different from your standard military type MRE, it’s not a full meal pack (like with a cookie and an entree and then maybe a drink mix or something) it’s a meal in a bag. So far I’ve tried the Italian Beefsteak, the Chicken Fried Rice and the Biscuit and Gravy. It’s honestly like eating the homemade versions of each.

Everything is ready and perfectly seasoned in the pouch, you just add boiling water. (I improvised and ran a clear cycle on my work coffee pot, which worked perfectly) Seal it up (it has a resealable thing like a zipper bag) and wait a few minutes.

Open it up when done and ENJOY! I’m kind of ashamed to admit that I ate the entire 2 serving pouches all by myself. So if you have a hearty appetite, consider these pouches serving size. All other “normal” portion size eaters, 1 pouch should serve 2 adults just fine.

The flavors I had are JUST the beginning!

The site also offers the following flavors:

BREAKFAST

Breakfast Skillet

Granola w/milk & blueberries

Scrambled eggs

Scrambled eggs with bacon

Scrambled eggs with peppers

Biscuits & Gravy

LUNCH/DINNER

Beef Stew

Beef Stroganoff

Chicken A La King

Chicken & White bean Chili

Chicken & mashed potatoes

and many more…

DESSERTS

and even

SIDES

But wait… there’s more!  Mountain House offers canned food as well as Family sized pouches and buckets or kits! And if you want a special diet type of foods, they also offer Vegetarian, Low Sodium & Gluten Free options!

Leave a Reply

